Book Review: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Rating: 8.5/10

Spoiler Free: 
This was one of the rare occasions in which I felt satisfied at the end of a duology; Alexandra Bracken is a very unique writer who drives the plot in directions I would never be able to think up. Personally, I did like the first book better, just because this one felt a little disjointed and I sometimes got lost in the midst of all of the action, but I definitely still really enjoyed reading it and loved getting to see more of Etta and Nick’s stories. I would really recommend this book for anyone at all interested in reading about time travel or history! Alexandra Bracken has this wonderful premise behind the idea of time travel that ties together a lot of the loose ends that always come into the conversation when we try to discuss time travel and whether or not it would be possible to avoid paradoxes. If you haven’t read this or Passenger, please do! They’re certainly worth the read.

Wayfarer Barnes and Noble Link

 

Spoiler Full:
I really wasn’t ready for this book to end! While it was nice to have a happy ending, in the rare exception to the YA world, I just wanted to read about Etta getting to live out the rest of her life with both of her parents and Nicholas, and Nicholas finally getting to live a real life and see how far he can go–have you ever read such a motivated character? To be completely honest, I’m still crying about Alice and the fact that she knew what was coming, and basically all of the scenes wherein Etta met members of her family in the past had me on the edge of my seat! And Julian being alive was a marvelous twist–I guess it could be seen as kind of predictable, but it was a really mood lifting moment to hope that perhaps Nicholas could have a brother again, and stop being held as guilty for something that was entirely not his fault. Now if we can just get Julian to be more vocal against racism I’ll be peachy keen.

Sofia’s character development was fantastic, and it was so heartwarming to see her really come into herself and acknowledge who she was, without ever abandoning the person she’d been all along simply because other people didn’t like it. While there were many occasions on which I wanted to shake her, no one can deny that she’s an incredibly determined and dedicated character, with wit to match.

I may or may not have cried (I did, ugly tears) in the final scene where Etta’s family is at the recital just when she thinks she is completely alone, it was such a perfect ending that just really completed the story for me and made all of it feel magical in a way.

All in all, I really loved reading this book, and it definitely makes me want to read more by Alexandra Bracken (and reread this series)!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

