Book Review: Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

Rating: 8/10

Spoiler Free:
Completely shocking, slamming into you with an obscure and indefinite ending, I still haven’t been able to get this book out of my brain.
In all honesty, I don’t know how I feel about this book, because in a lot of places the characters were really frustrating, and I have a hard time reading through books when I can’t like any of the characters. The thing is, even though they were not my cup of tea in many scenes, they were written brilliantly, the book itself was very masterful and very realistic as far as the decisions people make and how they interact–they brought to the table the stories of characters I don’t typically get to read much of, and it was definitely an enticing if stressful read. This one is definitely a good read for people who like INTENSE and exciting plot twists.

SNfBG Barnes and Noble Link

 

Spoiler Full:
     I will admit, the idea that Delia might still be alive raced through my mind once, near the beginning of the novel, but I never in a million years would have guessed the rest of it–cunning, secretive, it was a great plan, and it was a really interesting way to completely change the story’s dynamic in the second half of the book.

The way the story bounced around so many ideas and theories was almost disorienting, because we were trying to figure out if June’s boyfriend had cheated on her while also trying to figure out if he had murdered her best friend, and the intertwining of typical and criminal plots was a lot to take in.

To be honest, June got on my nerves a lot of times, and it broke my heart that she and Delia had just suddenly up and stopped being friends after years of being closer to each other than anyone else. I definitely loved that she never let that stop her from loving Delia, and was definitely frustrated on her behalf when people attempted to invalidate her right to care about what had happened in Delia’s final days because they had recently fallen apart.

Delia, though…she was so well written, and had to be a sociopath because the apathy with which she regarded everyone else’s lives and emotions was chilling. The way she treats June is so careful, so well contrasted with her willingness to fake her death and murder in cold blood. Having untrustworthy narrators is always really unique and entertaining, but afterwards it was frustrating to always wonder what did and didn’t really happen. It’s a hard thing to write successfully, but I definitely think Lynn Weingarten pulled it off well.

Which brings me to the ending: did June say yes, and write the note herself? Or did Delia kill her when she refused?

I don’t know that I’ll ever really be able to decide how I feel about this book, because while I respect it as a well written work it kind of terrifies me and puts my brain to the limits.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

